History and Tradition

UTS opens its doors for the first time with H. J. Crawford as Headmaster. There are 325 students - all boys: 150 in the junior school, 175 in the senior school.

Cadet Corps is officially inaugurated as part of the Prime Minister's Honour Guard at the Exhibition grounds; it would remain part of UTS life until the early-1970s.

The first UTS class graduates and the first Old Boys' Banquet is held.

  An inaugural UTS yearbook, The Annals, is published. The first mandatory entrance examination is held.

The senior hockey team wins the inaugural Memorial Cup becoming the Dominion Junior Hockey Champions.

  The first issue UTS Monthly (later called The Twig - the name still in use today) is published. A Remembrance Service at Convocation Hall dedicates plaques to those who served and died in the WW1.

H. J. Crawford dies, W. C. Ferguson becomes acting Headmaster.

J. G. Althouse become the second Headmaster.

The Huron wing and auditorium are built.

The western extension is added.

Dr. Althouse becomes Dean of the Ontario College of Education; A. C. Lewis becomes the third Headmaster.

The junior school is closed.

Lewis succeeds Althouse as OCE Dean; W. Brock MacMurray '24, is named the fourth Headmaster.

The Spadina wing (today's U of T Department of Sociology) is opened.

Grades 7 and 8 are reintroduced.

The 60s bring substantial social changes to UTS: for example, bolted-down wooden desks are removed from classrooms, the Student Council established, the dress code is relaxed.

Derek Bate '44 - Assistant Headmaster since 1967 - becomes acting headmaster.

Brock MacMurray retires after 28 years; Donald Gutteridge becomes heads the school and adopts the title "Principal".

63 years to the day after first opening, UTS becomes a co-educational institution, admitting girls to both grades 7 and 8.

First co-educational graduating class. The Old Boys Association becomes the Alumni Association.

William Warden is named sixth Principal.

Al Fleming '54 becomes seventh Principal, the second alumnus to hold the position.

The provincial government announces the elimination of its annual grant to UTS.

Preserving the Opportunity campaign is established to create a $10 million endowment.

Stan Pearl is named eighth Principal.

UTS increases the size of the incoming class from 78 to 104, a move to increase enrolment to over 600 within six years. The Endowment campaign draws to a close, exceeding target figure by over $4million.

 The 90th anniversary of UTS. Linda Newnham becomes the ninth Principal.

Robin Brooke-Smith becomes acting-principal.

The OISE/UT Dean forms the UTS Interim Board tasked with examining UTS governance issues and making recommendations regarding a permanent Board of Directors.

Consultation process begins with UTS stakeholders to determine the future direction of the School.

Feedback from consultation process overwhelmingly supports UTS becoming an independent corporation, affiliated with the University of Toronto. The Interim Board submits its recommendation to the University’s Governing Council.

UTS becomes an independent, not-for-profit school and signs an Interim Affiliation Agreement with the University of Toronto. First UTS Board elected.

Ron Mintz becomes the twelfth Principal.

UTS and U of T sign a 15-year Affiliation Agreement. Michaele M. Robertson becomes the thirteenth Principal.

The strategic plan, Building the Future, is released to UTS community.

UTS celebrates its centennial.

 Rosemary Evans becomes the fourteenth principal.

Copyright © 2012 University of Toronto Schools